Daily Prompt: Menagerie

I saw this, and thought it was a quick thought worm to change from the norm of my posts.  This is a reply to the Daily Prompt, and a quick one might I add.  The question?

Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to?

I don’t have animals in my life.  I don’t even have any virtual animals.  I’ve opted not to because I know that if I had an animal, I would mistreat it.  I don’t mean in the way that I would kick it or starve it.  However, my lifestyle is fast moving.  I really like the fact that I can move as freely as my mind can conceive of, with little thought of what ramifications might exist on the homefront.

I do know that this freedom will eventually come to an end.  However, I think that notion is what propels me to live kinetically…frenetically…to get the most out of each and every day.  I will eventually have to slow down, be a little more “responsible” with my time and planning.

But for now, I move at a break neck pace at times, and that’s just the way I like it.  An animal would only stymie that, or even worse, become a victim to that fast-paced lifestyle.  I often look at people who have pets who are cooped up in the house all day, or cooped up in a cage.  I’m not a huge animal rights/PETA person, but that sucks.  Why not just admit that your schedule and lifestyle is not conducive to having a pet.  Get a significant other…or get a hooker!

My life is a menagerie of personalities.  

If you’d like to join in on the discussion, you can see this prompt here:  Daily Prompt: Menagerie

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Menagerie

Got something to say?

