My Precious

Daily Prompt: My Precious

Who is the person in your life who can do no wrong? Describe this person and tell us why you hold them in such high esteem.

Hmm…I thought about this for a while.  I don’t really have a precious.  In the past perhaps, but….life changes, things change.  I must admit that I miss that.  I miss having someone around who fits that mold…someone who can’t do any wrong.  I mean, of course anyone can do wrong. But, I interpret that as that despite what they may do, you could never get to that point of no redemption.

As I think about it, I don’t consider family in that definition.  Ultimately, I think family just fits that definition because they are family.  We forgive family despite the repeated f***ed up things they do.

I equate the above term and definition to someone that I suppose in some way you are in love with…or at least enamored with.  I’ve had those before.  Usually it was some female who in subtle…and sometimes very unsubtle ways treated me like s**t, but I can’t running back for more…thus, they could do no wrong.  It’s strange how that happens.  We often criticize others who do it, but most of us (not all by any means) have ran into that sad situation, where we let someone pee all over us, only to smile, nod and give thumbs up.

I recently was falling into that situation.  Young lady, pretty, interesting, I was very interested in…and yet, sometimes she seemed as if the possibility of a relationship might be there…and other times, not at all.  I finally told myself “I don’t have time for this” and just disconnected myself from things.  The saddest part of it all is that when it happens, you come out the far end of the tunnel a little more cynical perhaps.  While it’s not impossible to resist, that’s the easy route, and that’s often what happens.  So many of us use up our energy fighting countless battles day to day, we often simply take the easiest of roads when it comes to our emotional well being.  Perhaps it’s the fear that otherwise, the well will simply dry up.  There has to be an end right?  Nothing is infinite.

Wow, that was a really long explanation to say “I don’t have a precious.”  Does that make me sad?  Hmm….

4 thoughts on “My Precious

Got something to say?

