So Here’s The Problem

So on my way to work today, I decided to check out the new Kanye West track “All Day”.

Now, I would never label myself a Kanye West fan per se, but he is from Chicago, and I do have a special place in my heart for Chicago area artists (Kanye West, Common, Rhymefest, etc).  Also, I’d read a few music news outlets who had heralded this track as Kanye West busting out as a real lyricist with great musicality, blah, blah, blah…

So I listened to the track, which will be in rotation 24/7 on Urban Radio stations from here till May.

The only problem?

The track ain’t s**t.

Well actually, I may label it as d*****t, but that’s about it.  Sure, if I had a few drinks in me, I’d shake my a** in the club to it. It has a nice beat. But, much like much of what they play on 107.5 WGCI and Power 92 (yeah, I’m pointing a finger at you boys), that’s all you can really say about it.  The lyrics have no substance, very little in the way of clever rhyme scheme or double entendre…it’s just….simple.

Now don’t get me wrong. I think Kanye has produced some amazing music in the past, and some not so amazing music, but let’s not make it out to be something it’s not.

Actually, here’s what I want you, the reader to do.

Go here, and listen to this new Kanye track:

Kanye West – ‘All Day’

Now, compare it to this, one of my favorite tracks, ‘The Best of Times’ by Sage Francis

You won’t see Sage Francis on MTV because he doesn’t fit the mold, but that’s a story for a different time.  Hell, let’s make it fair, and I’ll compare Kanye to another mainstream artist, who actually does fit the mold of MTV: Busta Rhymes, with his track ‘Thank You’, featuring Q-Tip, Kanye West, and Lil’ Wayne

The sad part is that music news and critics don’t see it for what it is.  A tune that would be lackluster at best if it had an unknown name on it.

So I’m goiung to use the associative property in this case.

The track ain’t s**t, so all the music outlets that say otherwise ain’t s**t either.

And that, my friends, is the problem.

One thought on “So Here’s The Problem

Got something to say?

